Maine Cannabis Consulting Companies

Maine Cannabis Licensing Information

Maine

Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: Yes

2018 Medical Sales : $59,000,000

2022 Projected Medical Sales : $28,000,000

2018 Adult Use Sales : $0

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : $237,000,000

Noteworthy Information: Voters approved adult-use legalization in November 2016. (Opponents dropped a recount, which still delayed the beginning date of adult-use cultivation.) The legislature has delayed other implementation dates. The Department of Administrative and Financial Services is required to hire a consultant to help write additional regulatory rules, including the licensing of wholesale commercial growing facilities and the licensing of retail sellers. These rules will have to be approved by the next Legislature. Adults may now grow, gift and possess cannabis, but it could be until spring of 2019 before the first retail establishments open. The medical program has existed in some form since 1998.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): Yes
(Medical: Department of Health and Human Services , Division of Public Health Services, Medical Use of Marijuana Program)
(Adult-use: Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations)

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): Medical: 8 allowed (8 issued)

Retail: No state limit (0 issued)

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): Medical: N/A. Dispensaries do all their own cultivation.

Retail: No state limit (0 issued)

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): Medical: N/A. Dispensaries do all manufacturing as well. To do so they must obtain a food establishment license.

Retail: No state limit (0 issued)

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): As of 2016 allowed (0 issued)

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: Medical: Initially distributed by Public Health Districts. 1 dispensary was allowed in each of the 8 Public Health Districts. The eight Public Health Districts are: York District 1 (York County); Cumberland District 2 (Cumberland County); Western District 3 (Androscoggin, Franklin, and Oxford Counties); Midcoast District 4 (Waldo, Lincoln, Knox, Sagadahoc Counties); Central Maine District 5 (Somerset and Kennebec Counties); Penquis District 6 (Penobscot and Piscataquis Counties); Downeast District 7 (Washington and Hancock counties); and Aroostook District 8 (Aroostook County). Retail: No state distribution requirements.

Application Fee:
Medical: Dispensary Certificate of Registration Application Fee= $15,000
Identification Card Application Fee= $25
Background Check Fee (initial application)= $31
Registered Primary Caregiver Application fee= $240/per patient (maximum patient count is 5 --> $1,200 max) *non-cultivating primary caregivers are not subject to this fee
Change of Location Fee= $5,000

Retail:
"The state licensing authority shall determine the revenue needed to set up the licensing and enforcement operations of the department and set the fees applicable to the categories as outlined in subsection 1 within the ranges specified in the following schedule:
A. Retail marijuana store license= $250 non-refundable application fee;
B. Retail marijuana cultivation facility license;
Tier 1 recreational cultivation facility license application fee = $100
Tier 2 recreational cultivation facility license application fee = $500
Tier 3 recreational cultivation facility license application fee = $500
Tier 4 recreational cultivation facility license application fee = $500
Nursery cultivation facility license application fee = $60
C. Retail marijuana products manufacturing facility license= $250 non-refundable application fee;
D. Retail marijuana testing facility license= $250 non-refundable application fee;
E. Retail marijuana social club license= $250 non-refundable application fee; and
F. Occupational licenses and registrations for owners, managers, operators, employees, contractors and other support staff employed at, working in or having access to restricted access areas of the licensed premises, as determined by the state licensing authority."

Licensing Fees:
Medical:
Dispensary Certificate or Registration Renewal Fee= $15,000
Identification card renewal fee= $25
Background Check Fee (renewal)= $31
Change of Location Fee= $5,000
Replacement Identification Card Fee= $8
Registered Primary Caregiver Renewal fee= $240/per patient (maximum patient count is 5 --> $1,200 max) *non-cultivating primary caregivers are not subject to this fee

Retail:
"The state licensing authority shall determine the revenue needed to set up the licensing and enforcement operations of the department and set the fees applicable to the categories as outlined in subsection 1 within the ranges specified in the following schedule:
A. Retail marijuana store license, $250 to $2,500;
B. Tier 1 Retail Marijuana indoor cultivation facility license=$10 to $500
Tier 1 Retail Marijuana Outdoor cultivation facility license=$10 to $250
Tier 2 Retail Marijuana Outdoor cultivation facility license fee=up to $1,500
Tier 2 Retail Marijuana Indoor cultivation facility license fee=up to $3,000
Tier 3 Retail Marijuana Outdoor cultivation facility license fee=up to $5000
Tier 3 Retail Marijuana Indoor cultivation facility license fee=up to $10,000
Tier 4 Retail Marijuana Outdoor cultivation facility license fee=up to $15,000
Tier 4 Retail Marijuana cultivation facility license fee=up to $30,000
Each approved increase in the amount of licensed outdoor plant canopies may increase the facility License fee up to $5,000
Each approved increase in the amount of licensed indoor plant canopies may increase the facility License fee up to $10,000
Nursery cultivation facility license fee=$350
C. Retail marijuana products manufacturing facility license= $2,500
D. Retail marijuana testing facility license= $1,000
E. Retail marijuana social club license= $2,500
F. Occupational licenses and registrations for owners, managers, operators, employees, contractors and other support staff employed at, working in or having access to restricted access areas of the licensed premises, as determined by the state licensing authority."

Residency Requirements:
Medical: Yes. All principal officers and board members of a registered dispensary must be residents of the State of Maine.

Retail: Not yet known.

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited:
Medical: Required.
Retail: Appears to be allowed, except for labs.

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions:
1. Cancer
2. Glaucoma
3. HIV
4. AIDS
5. Hepatitis C
6. ALS
7. Crohn's Disease
8. Agitation of Alzheimer's Disease
9. Nail-patella syndrome
10. Chronic Intractable pain
11. cachexia or wasting
12. Severe nausea
13. Seizures including but not limited to those characteristic of epilepsy
14. Post-traumatic stress disorder
15. Inflammatory bowel disease
16. Dyskinetic and spastic movement disorders and other diseases causing severe and persistent muscle spasms
17. Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis

Testing Required:
Testing is only required upon request during announced or unannounced department inspection for product quality control. Dispensary is required to cover the costs of any such testing.

New Leaf Cannabis Consulting can help you achieve cannabis licensure in Maine

The team at New Leaf Cannabis Consulting has assisted cannabis businesses launch successfully throughout the United States. Team New Leaf are high level professionals who are also veterans of this industry: We know what it takes to take you step by step through the licensing process even when regulatory details are unclear.

To learn more or get started, contact us today. We look forward to helping your cannabis business take off in Maine.

Phone: 18887915323

Email: info@newleafcannabisconsulting.com

 

NEW LEAF CANNABIS BUSINESS NEWS

State By State Licensing Information