Skip to main content
Need assistance getting a cannabis business license? We can help. Schedule a Free Consultation

What Does it Cost to Apply for a MD Cannabis Business License?

Standard license application fee — $5,000.
Micro license application fee — $1,000.

What’s the difference between Maryland’s standard cannabis business license and a micro license?

Both standard and micro licenses offer the opportunity to form a business to grow, process or dispense cannabis or cannabis products. Micro licenses are for smaller businesses and the amount of cannabis a micro business can grow or process is limited. Micro dispensaries may establish a delivery service for cannabis and cannabis products to patients and consumers.

Who can apply for a Cannabis License in Maryland?

Cannabis Reform Act (HB556/SB516) requires that all Round 1 applicants qualify as social equity applicants.

A social equity applicant is defined as an applicant that has at least 65% ownership and control held by one or more individuals who:

  • Lived in a disproportionately impacted area for at least five of the past 10 years;
  • Attended a public school in a disproportionately impacted area for at least 5 years; or
  • Attended, for at least two years, a 4-year institution of higher education in the State where at least 40% of the individuals who attended the institution are eligible for a Pell grant.

What is a Disproportionately Impacted Area?

HB556/SB516 defines a disproportionately impacted area as an area that had above 150% of the state’s 10-year average for cannabis possession charges.

Need assistance getting a Maryland cannabis business license?  Schedule a Free Consultation