420 Advisors

Ohio Cannabis Licensing Information

1_Arizona.jpg

Ohio

Ohio

Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: No

2018 Medical Sales : $21,000,000

2022 Projected Medical Sales : $298,000,000

2018 Adult Use Sales : N/A

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : N/A

Noteworthy Information: Ohio's medical marijuana program became law in June 2016. The state has been releasing regulations and the cannabis committee has been meeting. The Ohio Department of Commerce and the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy are required by law to take all actions necessary to ensure that Ohio’s Medical Marijuana Control Program is fully operational no later than September 2018. Smoking and combustion are not allowed but oils, tinctures, plant material, edibles and patches are permitted. The amount of medical marijuana possessed by a registered patient or caregiver must not exceed a 90-day supply.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): Yes (Ohio Department of Commerce and Board of Pharmacy. The Department of Commerce will oversee growers, processors, and labs. The Board of Pharmacy will oversee dispensaries.)

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): 60 (0 issued)

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): Number allowed will be up to the Department of Commerce; current rules allow for 24 (12 for large grows of up to 25,000 square feet of cultivation area and 12 for small grows of up to 3,000 square feet of cultivation area) (0 issued)

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): 40 (0 issued)

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): There is currently no limit (0 issued)

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: The state is divided into 31 districts, with each district containing a maximum number of dispensary licenses that can be awarded.

Application Fee:
(All non-refundable)
The application fee for a dispensary license is $5,000
The application fee for a cultivation license is $2,000 or $20,000 (depending on size, see above)
The application fee for a processor is $10,000
The application fee for a testing laboratory is $2,000
The application fee for a dispensary key employee is $250
The application fee for a dispensary support employee is $100
The non-refundable advertising approval fee is $100 per advertisement

Licensing Fees:

The cultivation certificate of operation fee is $20,000 or $200,000 (depending on size)
The processor certificate of operation fee is $90,000
The processor annual license renewal fee is $100,000
The certificate of operation fee for a laboratory is $18,000
The laboratory annual license renewal fee is $20,000.
The dispensary certificate of operation fee is $70,000
The biennial renewal fee for a dispensary license is $70,000
The biennial renewal fee for a dispensary associated key employee card is $500
The biennial renewal fee for a dispensary key employee card is $250
The biennial renewal fee for a dispensary support employee card is $100
The fee for a reissued dispensary certificate of operation or employee identification card is $50
The fee for a change in ownership is $5,000
The fee for a relocation is $5,000
The fee for a major modification or renovation is $5,000

Residency Requirements:
None currently known

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited:
Appears to be allowed, with some limitations, such as regarding horizontal integrations.

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions:
(1) Acquired immune deficiency syndrome;
(2) Alzheimer's disease;
(3) Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis;
(4) Cancer;
(5) Chronic traumatic encephalopathy;
(6) Crohn's disease;
(7) Epilepsy or another seizure disorder;
(8) Fibromyalgia;
(9) Glaucoma;
(10) Hepatitis C;
(11) Inflammatory bowel disease;
(12) Multiple sclerosis;
(13) Pain that is either Chronic and severe, or Intractable;
(14) Parkinson's disease;
(15) Positive status for HIV;
(16) Post-traumatic stress disorder;
(17) Sickle cell anemia;
(18) Spinal cord disease or injury;
(19) Tourette's syndrome;
(20) Traumatic brain injury;
(21) Ulcerative colitis;

Testing Required:
Yes

Washington Cannabis Licensing Information

1_Oklahoma.jpg

Washington

Washington

Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: Yes

2018 Medical Sales : $0

2022 Projected Medical Sales : $0

2018 Adult Use Sales : $1,200,000,000

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : $1,500,000,000

Noteworthy Information: The Washington medical program was subsumed into the recreational program. Recreational stores are open. Medical cardholders may purchase in certain recreational stores sales-tax free, and/or join a co-op (co-ops are limited to 4 members, and must be in a home). The state is planning to grant cannabis research licenses as well. Of note, there is a bill in the legislature to repeal cannabis use in the state.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): Medical - Yes (Washington State Department of Health)

Recreational - Yes (Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board. Note: Applications are now processed through the Department of Revenue’s Business Licensing Service)

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued):
Medical: There are no longer medical marijuana dispensaries. Note: a patient who receives a medical marijuana recommendation and elects to be placed into the state database may purchase up to 3x the current sales limit, sales-tax free, at a licensed retail store that has a medical marijuana endorsement. (714 Consultant Certifications issued) (176 Active Stores)

Recreational:
State level - No Limit (556 total made available so far via rounds)
(495 issued)

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): Producers are split in 3 tiers: Tier 1 (2,000 sq. ft. or less of dedicated plant canopy);
Tier 2 (2000-10,000 sq. ft. of dedicated plant canopy); Tier 3 (10,000-30,000 sq. ft. of dedicated plant canopy)

[Medical: 0 allowed. Commercial medical cultivations are no longer allowed.]

Recreational:
called Producers
No Limit
(166 Producer licenses issued)
(982 Producer/Processor licenses issued)

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): [Medical: 0 Allowed. Commercial Medical Manufacturing is no longer allowed.]









Recreational:
Processors
Potentially unlimited # allowed, but not currently accepting new applications.
(158 Processor licenses issued)
(982 Producer/Processor licenses issued)

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): Recreational: No Limit (16 issued) (14 of those issued are reported to have completed the proficiency testing program)

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: No mandatory distribution is indicated

Application Fee:


Recreational license (for producer, processor, or retailer) application Fee= $250
Adding a Medical Marijuana Endorsement to your Retailer license=$0

Marijuana transportation= $250
Business License Application= $19

Licensing Fees:
Recreational license (for producer, processor, or retailer) annual renewal fee= $1,480
Recreational License Change of Location= $75
Recreational License Change of Ownership= $75
Registering your business name as a trade name=$5
Change in Trade Name=$5
Recreational Change in Producing Site and/or Operating Plan= $75
Change in Retail or Processing Site and/or Operating Plan $80
Change In Governing People, Percentage Owned and/or Stock/Unit Ownership=$75

Residency Requirements:
All applicants applying for a marijuana license must have resided in Washington State for at least six months prior to applying for a marijuana license. All partnerships, employee cooperatives, associations, nonprofit corporations, corporations and limited liability companies applying for a marijuana license must be formed in Washington. All members of the business must meet the six-month residency requirement. Licensees must maintain Washington State residency.

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited:
Vertical Integration generally not allowed. (The law technically allows up to three licenses be held together, but the has stated in an industry email: "Since February 2014, as an interim policy, the LCB has restricted marijuana producers to a single license. That decision will later be put into rule.” Nonetheless, in an email to licensed producers they did indicate possibly allowing current producers to acquire other producers beginning in 2017.)

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions:
1. Cancer, human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), multiple sclerosis, epilepsy or other seizure disorder, or spasticity disorders.
2. Intractable pain, limited for the purpose of this chapter to mean pain unrelieved by standard medical treatments and medications.
3. Glaucoma, either acute or chronic, limited for the purpose of this chapter to mean increased intraocular pressure unrelieved by standard treatments and medications.
4. Crohn's disease with debilitating symptoms unrelieved by standard treatments or medications.
5. Hepatitis C with debilitating nausea or intractable pain unrelieved by standard treatments or medications.
6. Diseases, including anorexia, which result in nausea, vomiting, wasting, appetite loss, cramping, seizures, muscle spasms, or spasticity, when these symptoms are unrelieved by standard treatments or medications.
7. Chronic renal failure requiring hemodialysis.
8. Posttraumatic stress disorder.
9. Traumatic brain injury.

Testing Required:
Required

New Leaf Cannabis Consulting can help you achieve cannabis licensure in Washington.

The team at New Leaf Cannabis Consulting has assisted cannabis businesses launch successfully throughout the United States. Team New Leaf are high level professionals who are also veterans of this industry: We know what it takes to take you step by step through the licensing process even when regulatory details are unclear.

To learn more or get started, contact us today. We look forward to helping your cannabis business take off in Washington.

Phone: 18887915323

Email: info@newleafcannabisconsulting.com

State By State Licensing Information

Alaska Cannabis Licensing Information

alaska.jpg

Alaska

Alaska

Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: Yes

2018 Medical Sales : $3,000,000

2022 Projected Medical Sales : $3,000,000

2018 Adult Use Sales : $28,000,000

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : $119,000,000

Noteworthy Information: Alaska's first recreational sale took place in late 2016. The state's recreational program is in the process of issuing more licenses. Alaska's medical program is limited to a card registry for patients and caregivers, with no business licenses. The legislature passed a law in July 2016 that allows municipalities to prohibit recreational cannabis licenses.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): Recreational: Yes (Marijuana Control Board)

Medical: No

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): Recreational - No limit indicated. (54 active licenses issued)

Medical: n/a

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): Recreational - No limit indicated. (109 active)


Medical: n/a

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): Recreational - No limit indicated. (8 active)


Medical: n/a

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): Recreational - No limit indicated.(3 active)


Medical: n/a

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: Recreational - No required distribution indicated Medical: n/a

Application Fee:
Recreational:
New License Application=$1000
Application to transfer License=$1000
Renewal Application=$600 ($1600 if Late)
Application for Change of Name= $250
Modification of Premises= $250
Change in Operating Plan= $250
Application for Approval of New Marijuana product= $250
Change in ownership fee= $250

Medical: n/a

Licensing Fees:
Recreational:
Retailer License Fee= $5000
Limited Cultivation License Fee= $1000
Cultivation License Fee= $5000
Extract Only Manufacturer License Fee= $1000
Manufacturer License Fee= $5000
Testing License Fee=$1000
Marijuana Handler Permit Card Fee=$50
Fingerprint Fees= $47.00

Medical: n/a

Residency Requirements:
Recreational:
A person other than a licensee may not have a direct or indirect financial interest in the business for which a marijuana establishment license is issued.

The board will not issue a marijuana establishment license to
(1) an individual or a sole proprietorship unless the individual or proprietor is a
resident of the state;
(2) a partnership unless each partner is a resident of the state;
(3) a limited liability company unless the limited liability company is qualified to
do business in the state, and each member of the limited liability company is a resident of the
state; or
(4) a corporation unless the corporation is incorporated or qualified to do
business in the state, and each shareholder is a resident of the state.

Medical: n/a

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited:
Recreational: Allowed

Medical: n/a

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions:
1. Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, or acquired immune deficiency syndrome, or treatment for any of these conditions;
2. Any chronic or debilitating disease or treatment for such diseases, which produces, for a specific patient, one or more of the following, and for which, in the professional opinion of the patient’s physician, such condition or conditions reasonably may be alleviated by the medical use of the marijuana: cachexia; severe pain; severe nausea; seizures, including those that are characteristic of epilepsy; or persistent muscle spasms, including those that are characteristic or multiple sclerosis; or
3. Any other medical condition, or treatment for such condition, approved by the department, under regulations adopted under AS17.37.060 or approval of a petition submitted under AS17.37.060.

Testing Required:
Recreational: Yes

New Leaf Cannabis Consulting can help you achieve cannabis licensure in Alaska.

The team at New Leaf Cannabis Consulting has assisted cannabis businesses launch successfully throughout the United States. Team New Leaf are high level professionals who are also veterans of this industry: We know what it takes to take you step by step through the licensing process even when regulatory details are unclear.

To learn more or get started, contact us today. We look forward to helping your cannabis business take off in Alaska.

Phone: 18887915323

Email: info@newleafcannabisconsulting.com

State By State Licensing Information

Wisconsin Cannabis Licensing Information

wisconscin.jpg

Wisconsin

Wisconsin

Allows Medical marijuana?: No, however, possession of marijuana-derived CBD oil is legal with a doctor's certification.

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: No. Voters in Milwaukee County will be asked on the November 6th ballot if Wisconsin should legalize recreational marijuana use. The ballot question is advisory in nature and is constructed to pressure the state legislature to pass a recreational marijuana bill.

2018 Medical Sales : N/A

2022 Projected Medical Sales : N/A

2018 Adult Use Sales : N/A

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : N/A

Noteworthy Information: On April 27, 2018, the Wisconsin Department of Justice released a memo to advise law enforcement, saying: "CBD oil and other CBD products, with or without THC, are illegal to possess or distribute within the State of Wisconsin except for patients with a doctor's certification in very limited circumstances." The Attorney General later reversed the memo a few days later after meeting with industry representatives and said Wisconsin farmers who grow industrial hemp can produce CBD oil from it.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): No

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): N/A

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): N/A

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): N/A

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): N/A

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: N/A

Application Fee:
N/A

Licensing Fees:
N/A

Residency Requirements:
N/A

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited:
N/A

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions:
Previously, it was strictly for a ‘seizure disorder’ but with the signing of 2017 Senate Bill 10 it changed it to "Medical condition".

Testing Required:
N/A

The team at New Leaf Cannabis Consulting has assisted cannabis businesses launch successfully throughout the United States. Team New Leaf are high level professionals who are also veterans of this industry: We know what it takes to take you step by step through the licensing process even when regulatory details are unclear.

To learn more or get started, contact us today. We look forward to helping your cannabis business take off in Wisconsin.

Phone: 18887915323

Email: info@newleafcannabisconsulting.comOhio.

New Leaf Cannabis News

State By State Licensing Information

West Virginia Cannabis Licensing Information

1_New_Mexico.jpg

West Virginia

West Virginia

Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: No

2018 Medical Sales : N/A

2022 Projected Medical Sales : $36,000,000.00

2018 Adult Use Sales : N/A

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : N/A

Noteworthy Information: The West Virginia Medical Cannabis Act was signed into law on April 19, 2017. Cannabis can be in the following forms: pill; oil; topical forms including gels, creams or ointments; a form medically appropriate for administration by vaporization or nebulization, excluding dry leaf or plant form unless dry leaf or plant forms become acceptable under rules adopted by the Bureau for Public Health; tincture; liquid; or dermal patch. The Bureau for Public Health may not issue the patient and caregiver identification cards necessary to obtain medical cannabis until July 1, 2019. Up to that time, the Bureau will be preparing to issue formal rules in a sequential manner to implement the Act.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): Yes (Bureau of Public health- Office of Medical Cannabis)

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): 30 allowed (0 issued)

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): 10 allowed (0 Issued)

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): 10 allowed (0 issued)

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): N/A

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: In its regulations, the Bureau is required to establish a minimum of three regions within this state for the purpose of granting permits to grower/processors and dispensaries. The Statute explains that “The bureau shall approve permits for growers, processors and dispensaries in a manner which will provide an adequate amount of medical cannabis to patients and caregivers in all areas of this State.” and that it will have to consider the following factors when issuing a permit: (1) Regional population. (2) The number of patients suffering from serious medical conditions. (3) The types of serious medical conditions. (4) Access to public transportation. (5) Approval by local health departments. (6) Whether the county has disallowed the location of a grower, processor or dispensary. (7) Any other factor the bureau deems relevant.

Application Fee:
Initial application fee for grower/processor = $5,000
Initial application fee for dispensary = $2,500
Amended application fee = $250

Licensing Fees:
Permit fee for grower/processor = $50,000
Permit fee for dispensary = $10,000

Permit Renewal fee for grower/processor = $5,000
Permit Renewal fee for dispensary = $2,500

Residency Requirements:
N/A

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited:
Prohibited (A grower or processor may not be a dispensary)

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions:
• Cancer.
• Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency
syndrome.
• Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.
• Parkinson’s disease.
• Multiple sclerosis.
• Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of
intractable spasticity.
• Epilepsy.
• Neuropathies.
• Huntington’s disease.
• Crohn’s disease.
• Post-traumatic stress disorder.
• Intractable seizures.
• Sickle cell anemia.
• Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable
pain in which conventional therapeutic intervention and opiate therapy is contraindicated
or has proved ineffective as determined as part of continuing care.
• Terminal illness that is defined as a medical prognosis of life expectancy of
approximately one year or less if the illness runs its normal course.

Testing Required:
Yes

New Leaf Cannabis Consulting can help you achieve cannabis licensure in West Virginia

The team at New Leaf Cannabis Consulting has assisted cannabis businesses launch successfully throughout the United States. Team New Leaf are high level professionals who are also veterans of this industry: We know what it takes to take you step by step through the licensing process even when regulatory details are unclear.

To learn more or get started, contact us today. We look forward to helping your cannabis business take off in West Virginia.

Phone: 18887915323

Email: info@newleafcannabisconsulting.com

State By State Licensing Information

Virginia Cannabis Licensing Information

1_Virginia.jpg

Virginia

Virginia

Allows Medical marijuana?: Limited (Yes high-CBD or THC-A, low-THC oil)

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: No

2018 Medical Sales : N/A

2022 Projected Medical Sales : $17,200,000

2018 Adult Use Sales : N/A

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : N/A

Noteworthy Information: The oil must at least 15% CBD or at least 15% THCA-A and may contain no more than 5% THC. In March of 2018, the state expanded the affirmative defense for possession of medical cannabis oils to any diagnosed condition while the state establishes five “pharmaceutical processors”, one for each of Virginia’s five health regions. The Pharmacy Board released 24 pages of regulations that set rules for every stage of the CBD oil process. Patients and their doctors will have to register with the Pharmacy Board before they can make their first purchase. The earliest estimated date when the oil will be available at a licensed facility is late 2019.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): No (the Virginia Board of Pharmacy is in charge of issuing pharmaceutical processor permits)

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): 5. Called ‘Pharmaceutical Processors’. Allowed to cultivate, process, and dispense cannabidiol oil (0 issued)

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): See above.

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): See above.

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): N/A

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: One for each of Virginia’s five health regions.

Application Fee:
Pharmaceutical processor permit application fee: $10,000

Licensing Fees:
Pharmaceutical processor permit fee: $60,000
Pharmaceutical processor permit annual renewal fee: $10,000

Residency Requirements:
N/A

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited:
Each Pharmaceutical Processor is allowed to cultivate, processor, and dispense cannabidiol oil.

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions:
Intractable epilepsy, cancer, Crohn’s disease or any other medical condition.

Testing Required:
Yes

New Leaf Cannabis Consulting can help you achieve cannabis licensure in Virginia

The team at New Leaf Cannabis Consulting has assisted cannabis businesses launch successfully throughout the United States. Team New Leaf are high level professionals who are also veterans of this industry: We know what it takes to take you step by step through the licensing process even when regulatory details are unclear.

To learn more or get started, contact us today. We look forward to helping your cannabis business take off in Virginia.

Phone: 18887915323

Email: info@newleafcannabisconsulting.com

State By State Licensing Information

Vermont Cannabis Licensing Information

Vermont.jpg

Vermont

Vermont

Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: Yes (Limited)

2018 Medical Sales : $22,000,000

2022 Projected Medical Sales : $44,000,000

2018 Adult Use Sales : $0

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : $64,000,000

Noteworthy Information: On January 22, 2018, Governor Phil Scott signed a bill legalizing the possession and the limited cultivation of cannabis by adults 21+. It took effect on July 1st. Adults 21+ legally can possess up to one ounce of marijuana and can grow up to two mature marijuana plants and four immature marijuana plants per housing unit. Vermont has an established medical dispensary system. Vermont has an established medical dispensary system. The State passed an amendment in 2016 that allows for dispensaries to sell to one another, requires child-resistant packaging, and adds several qualifying conditions. In 2017, a bill was signed that added post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), Parkinson’s disease, and Crohn’s disease to the list of qualifying conditions.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): Yes (Vermont Department of Public Safety)

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): 6 allowed (5 issued)

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): N/A encompassed by dispensary

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): N/A encompassed by dispensary

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): N/A

Note: Testing is not mandatory, but doing so has been recommended by the oversight committee. However, the State may request sampling.

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: No mandatory distribution is indicated

Application Fee:

Dispensary application fee= $ 2,500.00

Registered Caregiver Application Fee= $50
Patient application fee= $50
Patient or Caregiver Change of Information form Processing Fee= $25

Licensing Fees:
Initial Dispensary registration fee= $ 20,000.00
Renewal Dispensary registration fee= $ 25,000.00

Person associated with a dispensary ID card fee= $50
Person associated with a dispensary ID card Renewal fee= $ 50.00

New Card fee (e.g. lost card, change of dispensary): $25

Residency Requirements:
Yes

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited:
Allowed (There is only one license, titled "dispensary." Such a license entitles the holder to grow, manufacture, and/or sell marijuana. A 2016 amendment now allows dispensaries to sell, lend, or give to one another, as long as all possession limits pertaining to cultivation (tied to number of patients) are honored.)

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions:
Cancer;
Multiple sclerosis;
HIV;
AIDS;
Glaucoma;
Crohn’s disease;
Parkinson’s disease;
Or the treatment of these conditions, if the disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and intractable symptoms;
PTSD, provided the applicant is undergoing psychotherapy or counseling with a licensed mental health care provider; or
A disease or medical condition or its treatment that is chronic, debilitating, and produces one or more of the following intractable symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome; chronic pain; severe nausea; or seizures.

Testing Required:
Yes (the amount of THC must be on each label)

New Leaf Cannabis Consulting can help you achieve cannabis licensure in Vermont

The team at New Leaf Cannabis Consulting has assisted cannabis businesses launch successfully throughout the United States. Team New Leaf are high level professionals who are also veterans of this industry: We know what it takes to take you step by step through the licensing process even when regulatory details are unclear.

To learn more or get started, contact us today. We look forward to helping your cannabis business take off in Vermont

Phone: 18887915323

Email: info@newleafcannabisconsulting.com

State By State Licensing Information