Arkansas Cannabis Licensing Information

Arkansas Cannabis Licensing Information



Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: No

2018 Medical Sales : 24,000,000

2022 Projected Medical Sales : 139,000,000

2018 Adult Use Sales : N/A

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : N/A

Noteworthy Information: In March 2018, Pulaski County Circuit Judge Wendell Griffen ruled in that the cultivation licensing process violated a state constitutional amendment that voters approved in 2016, legalizing marijuana for certain patients. The ruling effectively suspended the launch of Arkansas' medical marijuana program. In April 2018, state officials announced the commission would stop reviewing dispensary applications in response to the ruling. The Arkansas Supreme Court heard oral arguments June 7, 2018 and it is uncertain when they would rule. Qualified registered patients are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces from a dispensary every 14 days.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): Yes (The Medical Marijuana Commission oversees cultivators and dispensaries. The Alcoholic Beverage Control agency inspects facilities. The Department of Health issues registry cards for patients.)

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): At least 20 but no more than 40 is required by law; 32 will be issued initially (0 issued)

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): At least 4 but no more than 8 allowed. There will initially be 5 licenses (0 issued) [Note: Dispensaries may grow up to 50 plants. Cultivations do not have a specific plant limit]

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): [Manufacturing is allowed for both dispensaries and cultivations]

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): Regulations issued by the Department of Health (effective may 8, 2017) create testing requirements but do not address the licensing of testing facilities

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: The state is divided into eight zones for license distribution. No more than four dispensaries in any one county.

Application Fee:
Dispensary application fee: maximum of $7,500 (half is returned if rejected)
Cultivation facility application fee: $15,000 (half is returned if rejected)

Licensing Fees:
Dispensary License fee:$15,000
Cultivation facility licensing fee: $100,000

Residency Requirements:
60% of individuals with an ownership interest, and whoever submits the application, must have been Arkansas residents for the previous seven consecutive years.

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited:
"No individual shall own an interest in more than:
(1) One (1) cultivation facility; and,
(2) One (1) dispensary."

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions:
Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus/ acquired immune deficiency syndrome
Hepatitis C
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Tourette’s syndrome
Crohn’s disease
Ulcerative colitis
Post-traumatic stress disorder
Severe arthritis
Alzheimer’s disease
Cachexia or wasting syndrome
Peripheral neuropathy
Intractable pain which is pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment or surgical measures for more than six (6) months
Severe nausea
Seizures including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy
Severe and persistent muscle spasms including without limitation those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
and any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health

Testing Required:

New Leaf Cannabis Consulting can help you achieve cannabis licensure in Arkansas

The team at New Leaf Cannabis Consulting has assisted cannabis businesses launch successfully throughout the United States. Team New Leaf are high level professionals who are also veterans of this industry: We know what it takes to take you step by step through the licensing process even when regulatory details are unclear.

To learn more or get started, contact us today. We look forward to helping your cannabis business take off in Arkansas.

Phone: 18887915323


Check Your State Cannabis Business Licensing Requirements Here…